Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Evidence Based Practice (NUR 4169): Tools & Databases

Evidence Based Practice Tools/Databases

Good EBP Tools/Databases:

  • Designed for use at the point of care
  • Many are viewable on PDAs & other mobile devices
  • These sources search the literature automatically, seeking to quickly summarize the evidence

The following list of EPB Tools & Databases is arranged in alphabetical order:

Research (Bibliographic) Databases to Find Articles

Research (or bibliographic) databases can be searched to find individual articles to expand on, or update, the evidence summarized in EBP tools.

See also the FGCU library online nursing guide for a more detailed breakdown of database subject areas for nursing.


The following list of research databases is in alphabetical order:

Why library databases?

Short, quirky, and fun video about why library databases can help you research better:

About EBP journals

EBP journal editors and authors use predetermined criteria to select original research and review articles that report scientifically sound and clinically relevant results. Clinical experts provide value-added comments, describing the objectives, methods, results, and conclusions of the research, and then evaluation of the studies relative to the clinical context. Some examples of EBP journals include: