It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Includes the latest editions of medical textbooks, multimedia animations and videos to enhance the texts, practice guidelines, diagnostic tools, a drug database, and self-assessment tools for students studying for exams. Designed for medical students, residents, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, and medical faculty.
Collection of evidence-based medicine databases, including The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews and the Register of Controlled Trials. Full text of Cochrane Systematic Reviews are provided for FGCU users.
Provides comprehensive journal coverage of clinical and biomedical topics, including drug abuse and alcoholism, gerontology, industrial health, nursing, pediatrics, physical fitness and hygiene, oncology, psychiatry, public health, sports and games, surgery, women?s health, etc. Also includes case studies, white papers, instructional health videos.
Medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. Contains no full-text but provides link-outs to many full articles. Maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM).
Full text covering sports & sports medicine. Subject areas include: biomechanics, drugs, exercise, kinesiology, movement science, nutrition, occupational health and therapy, physical fitness, physical therapy, rehabilitation, sports and exercise psychology, and coaching and education.
A comprehensive point-of-care tool designed to assist physicians, nurses, and health professionals with clinical decisions. Searches can be performed by symptom, disease, or procedure; patient education materials are available, including some in Spanish. On the go: Download the mobile app through GooglePlay or the AppStore
UK public database. "Autism Data is the catalogue for The National Autistic Society’s reference library in its London office. It is a useful starting place for anyone researching autism and Asperger syndrome. It lists over 30,000 published research papers, books, articles, videos and other materials."
Published in Australia, this is a public database that "contains abstracts of systematic reviews, randomised controlled trials and other resources relevant to occupational therapy interventions. Most trials have been critically appraised for their validity and interpretability.?
PEDro is a public, "Physiotherapy Evidence Database of over 29,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy." Partnered with the APTA & affiliated with University of Sydney. Updated monthly.
A public database "that catalogues studies of cognitive, behavioural and other treatments for psychological problems and issues occurring as a consequence of acquired brain impairment (ABI)." Maintained by Australian universities.
A literature database on disability and rehabilitation. It covers physical, mental, and psychiatric disabilities, independent living, vocational rehabilitation, special education, assistive technology, law, employment, and other issues as they relate to people with disabilities.
2015 ed. Medical acronyms and abbreviations offer convenience, but those countless shortcuts can often be confusing. Alphabetical arrangement makes for quick reference, and expanded coverage of symbols ensures they are easier to find.
This resource, sponsored by the U.S. Dept. of Education, provides access to education related journal articles, conferences, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, directories, books and monographs from 1966 to present.
High quality, educational videos categorized under topics of disease, disorders & disabilities, healthcare & treatment, health careers, human anatomy & physiology, nutrition, personal health & wellness, and public health.
Most recent, 5th Edition (2016). Look up the drugs your clients are taking and understand how those drugs may affect treatment. "Over 900 concise drug monographs are organized alphabetically by generic name for quick access to the most important information on administering drugs and keeping patients safe."
Features the DSM? Library of books -- DSM-5? Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, DSM-5? Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, and DSM-5? Clinical Cases, several textbooks published by the American Psychiatry Association, 4 journals including The American Journal of Psychiatry and APA Practice Guidelines.
Indexes and abstracts psychological literature (books, journals, articles, dissertations, etc.) from the 1800s to the present and is produced by the American Psychological Association. Scope is worldwide.
Research article or Review article: what's the difference?
Research articles present original research results, and include details of the scientific data obtained during the research, as well as the methodology used. They are known as a primary source of scientific information, and should include:
An abstract, which succinctly summarizes the article content
An introduction which explains the reason/purpose/justification for the research
A clear outline of the methodology/ies used to conduct and analyze the research
Data to support analysis of results
Discussion of results
Review articles do exactly what their name suggests: they review the literature published on a particular topic. Typically, review articles:
Provide an overview of the research conducted ‘to date’ on a particular topic
'Track' the course of research, identifying significant contributions to the field, and themes in the literature
Discuss/analyze/compare/contrast the research of different authors working in the same field
A review article is considered a secondary source of information, and can provide an ideal starting point for researching a topic. The reference list will contain citations for the research articles (primary sources) discussed – a good way of locating other literature that may be relevant to your topic. Be aware that a review article reflects the views of its authors - you should still look at the articles discussed and draw your own conclusions.