It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Autistic Spectrum Disorder (ASD), encompasses an array of neurodevelopmental disorders, includingautism, Asperger syndrome, pervasive developmental disorder, childhood disintegrative disorder, and Rett syndrome. The current edition of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (also known as the DSM-V or DSM-5) has grouped all of these separate disorders into the more broad classification of ASD.
In general, people with ASD experience differing degrees of difficulty with verbal/nonverbal communication, social interactions, sensory input issues, and repetitive behaviors. Some are mildly affected, while others experience severe levels of impairment/disability.
Image from http://bionews-tx.com/autism-spectrum-disorder/
Autism Statistics and Data
Statistical data and data sets can be found online. Some data is freely available, other data must be obtained through subscription, membership, permission, or purchase. The links provided on this page are a sample of what is available. If you are looking for specific data on Autistic Spectrum Disorder, you may need to dig harder or search other resources to find it.
"The National Database for Autism Research (NDAR) is an NIH-funded research data repository that aims to accelerate progress in autism spectrum disorders (ASD) research through data sharing, data harmonization, and the reporting of research results. NDAR also serves as a scientific community platform and portal to multiple other research repositories, allowing for aggregation and secondary analysis of data."
"Provides previously collected resting state functional magnetic resonance imaging (R-fMRI) datasets from 539 individuals with ASD and 573 typical controls for the purpose of data sharing in the broader scientific community. This grass-root initiative involved 16 international sites... is expected to facilitate discovery science and comparisons across samples."
Useful Websites on Autism
Good information can be found at these websites, though you may need to be patient and thorough in your examination of their websites when looking for specific issues or data on Autistic Spectrum Disorder. NOTE: some organizations offer free scholarly publications and reports. (Try looking for a section on publications or resources or materials.)
Easy-to-read, informative site with links and info on signs & symptoms, screening & diagnosis, treatments, causes, risk factors & prevalence, research & clinical trials, publications, and organizations.
The Center for Disease Control's comprehensive website with links & information on screening & diagnosis, treatments, data & statistics, research & tracking, articles, and free materials. "CDC is committed to continuing to provide essential data on ASD, search for factors that put children at risk for ASD and possible causes, and develop resources that help identify children with ASD as early as possible."
A comprehensive UK organization providing excellent information, links, and publications on Autism, Asperger Syndrome and related conditions, including diagnosis, research, myths, facts & statistics. Also maintains the Autistic Data database.
"Operation Autism directly supports U.S. military families touched by autism and autism spectrum disorders. It serves as an introduction to autism, a guide for the life journey with autism, and a ready reference for available resources, services, and support."
"The Autism Society improves the lives of all affected by autism through education, advocacy, services, research and support." Also maintains the The Autism Source™ Resource Database, allowing you to search for autism-related services and supports throughout the U.S.
Databases for ASD
Looking for research articles and peer-reviewed sources on ASD? Try these following databases, they're your best bet:
UK public database. "Autism Data is the catalogue for The National Autistic Society’s reference library in its London office. It is a useful starting place for anyone researching autism and Asperger syndrome. It lists over 30,000 published research papers, books, articles, videos and other materials."
SEARCH TIP: This database does not link back to FGCU. But it's one of the best databases for finding articles on Autism you may need. If you find an article you like, copy and paste the title into FGCU Library Catalog to see if we own it. If we don't, you can always use ILLiad (InterLibrary Loan) to obtain it.
This resource, sponsored by the U.S. Dept. of Education, provides access to education related journal articles, conferences, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, directories, books and monographs from 1966 to present.
Psychological lit in behavioral sciences & mental health from1800s to present. Includes addictions, AIDS, counseling, criminal justice, social work, child & adolescent development, aging, family studies, abuse & neglect, cognition, educational psychology, sport psychology, occupational therapy, neuropsychology, music therapy, and sleep disorders. Produced by APA.
A literature database on disability and rehabilitation. It covers physical, mental, and psychiatric disabilities, independent living, vocational rehabilitation, special education, assistive technology, law, employment, and other issues as they relate to people with disabilities.
SEARCH TIP: This database does not link back to FGCU. But it's one of the best databases for finding articles on Autsim you may need. If you find an article you like, copy and paste the title into FGCU Library Catalog to see if we own it. If we don't, you can always use ILLiad (InterLibrary Loan) to obtain it.