Lesson Plans
- ADL Curriculum Connections: Anti-Bias Lesson Plans and Resources for K-12 Education
- Best of History Web Sites: Lesson Plans
- Digital Video Library

- Discovery Channel School

- Education World -- Lesson Planning Center
- Educator's Reference Desk: Lesson Plans
- National Council of Teachers of Mathematics: Lessons & Resources
- New York Times Learning Network

- PBS TeacherSource

- TeacherTube

- Thinkfinity

- Why Files: The Science Behind the News

Web Resources
The following web sites have been carefully selected for providing reliable information. If you are using information from the web, it is your responsibility to make sure that it is from authoritative resources.
- Florida Department of Education provides resources for students, parents, and educators in the state of Florida. Get news and updates on education legislation and statistics.
- Funding for Florida School Districts 2008-2009
- National Education Association contains resources for parents and professionals as well as information on current issues in education.
- U.S. Dept. of Education gives resources for students, teachers, parents, and administrators. Find information on financial aid, policy, programs, grants, and more.
- U.S. Department of Education- Research and Statistics gives statistical information from various research organizations and is a great resource for education researchers.
- Education World: Standards Section Offers both state and national standards.
- Educator's Reference Desk This resource is from the Institute of Information of Syracuse and offers lesson plans, links to online education information, and research guides.
- Federal Resources for Educational Excellence (FREE) is offered by the U.S. Department of Education website and contains teaching and learning resources from federal agencies.
- For Teachers (Library of Congress) brings primary sources into the classroom. Contains digital collections, American Memory Timeline, lesson plans and more.
- Literacy Web sponsored by University of Connecticut's College of Education and gives literacy resources by grade level and highlights current research.
- LD Online is the "world's leading website on learning disabilities and ADHD".
- Smithsonian Education: Educators' Section is a terrific resource for all ages and contains a resource library as well as lesson plans
- Theory into Practice Database contains summaries of 50 major theories of learning and instruction
- What to expect your first year of teaching contains tips and strategies for first year teachers.
Professional Organizations
From: Wong, H. and R. Wong. (2004) How to be an effective teacher: The First Days of School. Mountain View, CA: Harry K. Wong Publications. p.14
- American Alliance for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance
- American Alliance for Theatre & Education
- American Association of Physics Teachers
- American Council of the Teaching of Foreign Languages
- American Library Association
- American School Counselor Association
- American Speech-Language Hearing Association
- Association for Career and Technical Education
- Association for Childhood Education International
- Association for Children and Adults with Learning Disabilities
- Association for Education Communication and Technology
- Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development
- Comparative and International Education Society
- Council for Exceptional Children
- Council for Learning Disabilities
- International Reading Association
- International Society for Technology in Education
- Kappa Delta Pi
- Lutheran Education Association
- National Alliance of Black School Educators
- National Art Education Association
- National Association for Bilingual Education
- National Dance Education Organization
- National Association for Gifted Children
- National Association for Music Educators
- National Association of Biology Teachers
- National Association of Elementary School Principals
- National Association of School Nurses
- National Association of Secondary School Principals
- National Business Education Association
- National Catholic Education Association
- National Council for the Social Studies
- National Council of Teachers of English
- National Council of Teachers of Mathematics
- National Rural Education Association
- National Science Teachers Association
- Phi Delta Kappa
- Society for Music Teacher Education
This box has be reprinted with permission from Sara Marks, Instruction Services Librarian, Fitchburg State College, Fitchburg, Massachusetts.
Ed Week Blogs
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait