Math ResourcesSocial Studies
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Education  Tags: education  

START HERE for basic education resources!
Last update: Nov 19th, 2009 URL: http://fgcu.libguides.com/education  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Social Studies             Print Page
  
 

Social Studies Lesson Plans

Awesome Library -- Social Studies

American Memory Project 

Educator’s Desk Reference – Social Studies  Section is divided into categories and also gives lesson plans by grade level

Mrs. Mitchell's Virtual School  Mrs. Mitchell is a Social Studies teacher from New Hampshire. 

National Council for the Social Studies  

National Center for History in the Schools 

PBS Site for Social Studies Teachers

Social Studies Lesson Plans and Resources 

National Archives:  Teaching with Primary Sources Lesson Plans

 

Primary Sources

What are Primary Sources?  Essentially, primary sources are first hand accounts of an event.  Examples may include diaries, photographs, audio files, video recordings, memoires, maps, artifacts, etc.  

Guides to Using Primary Sources

Primary Sources by the Unversity of California/Berkeley Library

Using Primary Sources on the Web Terrific Guide by American Library Association

 

Selected Web Sites

American Memory Project 

National Archives 

Europeana 

Early Americas Digital Archives  offers electronic texts from 1492 - 1820

Repositories for Primary Sources  from the University of Idaho.  Offers over 5000 web sites from regions throughout the world that link to manuscripts, historical archives and photographs

Discovery American Women's History Online

 
 

FGCU Library Selected Resources

The FGCU Library has a variety of resources (books, videos, or journals) for Social Studies.  To search for teaching resources for Social Studies, do a search for Social Sciences Study and Teaching as a Subject Heading.  Then, on the left go to the subject area and open it form more results.  You should be able to narrow to the following areas:

  • Study and Teaching (Elementary)
  • Study and Teaching (Middle School)
  • Study and Teaching (Preschool)
  • Study and Teaching (Primary)
  • Study and Teaching (Secondary)

Here are a few examples:

  • The elementary teacher's guide to the best internet resources: Content, lesson plans, activities, and materials - Cruz, B., & DuPlass, J. A.
    Call Number: GEN LB1044.87 .C78 2007
    ISBN/ISSN: 0132192705
  • Much more social studies through children's literature - Fredericks, A. D
    Call Number: GEN LB1584.F6592 2007
    ISBN/ISSN: 1591584450
  • Real-world investigations for social studies : Inquiries for middle and high school students based on the ten NCSS standards
    Call Number: GEN H62.5.U5R415 2004
    ISBN/ISSN: 0130950033
  • Making connections in elementary and middle school social studies. classroom teaching aids - Johnson, A. P.
    Call Number: GEN LB1584.J57 2006
    ISBN/ISSN: 1412926645
  • Secrets to success for social studies teachers
    Call Number: GEN H62.5.U5K68 2008
    ISBN/ISSN: 1412950279
  • Handbook for teaching secondary school social studies - Stockard, J.W.
    Call Number: GEN H62.5.U5.S758 2007
    ISBN/ISSN: 157766454X
 

Social Studies Books in Curriculum Collection


Loading RSS Feed...
 
 

Selected Journals for Social Studies and Locating “Hot Topics”

Childhood Education LB1141 .C5   Current issues in browsing area.

Education Week (Trade)   L11 .E383

Elementary School Journal   L11 .E6 Current issues in browsing area

History Teacher D1 .H8177

Journal of Social Studies Research

Learning and Teaching in the Social Sciences  

Phi Delta Kappan LJ121 .P4  Current issues in browsing area

Reading Teacher LB1573 .A1 R28 Current issues in browsing area

Social Education H62.A1 S6  Current issues in browsing area

Social Studies D16.3 .S65

Social Studies and the Young Learner LB1584 .S6365
Social Studies Review

Voices from the Middle LB1631 .V65

Finding Articles Using Online Databases

The following databases are excellent starting points for locating materials related to social studies topics.    When connecting to these resources from off-campus, you must enter your FGCU ID (14-digit number) before you are allowed access.

 

Locating School Textbooks

1.     Type school textbook collection as a Subject Heading.

2.     Click School textbook collection in the Subject: Topic area to narrow results by topic.  Then click show more which will show elementary or secondary.  If you click show more again, you will get the subject areas.

3.     Or, do an Anywhere search subject + school textbook collection.  For example, health school textbook collection.

 

© FGCU 2008. This is an official FGCU web page.
Florida Gulf Coast University is an equal opportunity/affirmative action institution.

Florida Gulf Coast University, 10501 FGCU Blvd, S., Fort Myers, FL 33965-6565
(239)590-1000 or toll-free (800)590-3428

Library Webmaster

Description

  Loading content... please wait