Skip to main content

Faculty Scholarship: Getting Published

Find advice and library resources to support your publication and classroom teaching.

Targeting Journals for Publication

Journal Citation Reports (JCR) Comprehensive source that allows users to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from over 11,000 scholarly and technical journals. "JCR helps measure research influence and impact at the journal and category levels and shows you the relationship between citing and cited articles".   To learn more, see the following videos:

JCR on InCites: Quick Tour  3:02 min.

Journal Citation Reports: Impact Factor  5:49

Elsevier Journal Finder: Type in your title and abstract and let the "journal finder: find your journal! 

Edanz Jounal Selector: Similar to Journal Finder.

Cabell's [business, health administration, nursing, educational, and psychology] directoriesOnline version requires FGCU ID when off campus.  Contains the following Cabell's Directories of Publishing Opportunities:  Educational Curriculum & Methods, Educational Psychology & Administration, Health Administration, Nursing, Accounting, Economics & Finance, Management, Marketing, and Psychology.

Ulrichsweb.com (online version of Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory) includes the description, type of journal (i.e. electronic, open access, print), resources that index articles from the publication, price, contact information and a web address. It also indicates if a journal is refereed.  Search by title exact, keyword title, subject.  Online version requires FGCU ID when off campus. 

Directory of Open Access Journals  contains "free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals, covering all subjects and many languages".  Journal titles can be accessed via our e-journals portal and many are indexed in our databases.  As of September 2013  over 9,900 journals are available.    Go to DOAJ FAQs to learn more

Magazines for Libraries REF Z6941 .M23 2013 -- reviews core journals in a subject area and gives scope, address, circulation, audience as well as which resources index a particular journal. Available behind the Reference Desk.

Journal Acceptance Rates

It can be very difficult to get an article published in a scholarly journal.  For information on acceptance rates of journal articles of business, accounting,economics,  education and psychology journals, please see Cabell's [business, health administration, nursing, educational, and psychology] directories.

Some journals actually post their acceptance rates on their website.  

Other useful sites include: 

  • Journal Article Acceptance Rates  from the University of North Texas Libraries.  Contains resources for many disciplines.
  • APA Psychology Journals Statistics provides rejection rates, circulation data and other journal statistics.
  • Journals in Higher Education from Virginia Tech's Center for Instructional Development and Educational Research includes a listing of almost 600 higher education  journals.   Gives acceptance rates and publication review times for some of the journals. 

Teaching and Learning Journals

Kennesaw State University's Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning --contains teaching resources and a terrific journal directory that sorted by discipline and topic area.

For additional discipline and topic specific journals, please see the SoTL: Scholarship of Teaching Learning Guide..

 

Scholarly Publishing Book Resources

Effective Writing in Psychology Book Cover   Search the library catalog using the following subject headings:

Selected works

 

 

Casanave, C. P., & Vandrick, S. (2003). Writing for scholarly publication: Behind the scenes in language education.

Hay, I. (2012). Communicating in geography and the environmental sciences. South Melbourne, Vic: Oxford University Press.

Knapp, M. L., Daly, J. A., International Communication Association, & NetLibrary, I. (2004). A guide to publishing in scholarly communication journals (3rd ed.)

Luey, B. (2008). Revising your dissertation : Advice from leading editors (Updated.).

Luey, B., & NetLibrary, I. (2004). Revising your dissertation: Advice from leading editors.

McGinty, S. (1999). Gatekeepers of knowledge : Journal editors in the sciences and the social sciences.

McInerney, D. M., & NetLibrary, I. (2001). Publishing your psychology research: A guide to writing for journals in psychology and related fields.

Murray, R. (2005). Writing for academic journalsMaidenhead: Open University Press.

Rocco, T. S., & Hatcher, T. (2011). The Handbook of Scholarly Writing and Publishing. San Francisco, CA: Jossey-Bass. GEN PN146.H36 2011

Roldan, L., & Pardu, M.-L. (2016). Writing in biology: A brief guide. GEN QH304.R65 2016

Sternberg, R. J. & Sternberg, K. (2010). The psychologist's companion: A guide to writing scientific papers for students and researchers. (5th ed.) 

Strongman, L. (2013). Academic writing.

Thaiss, C. J. & Zawacki, T. M. (2006). Engaged writers and dynamic disciplines : Research on the academic writing life.

Wellington, J. J., & NetLibrary, I. (2003). Getting published: A guide for lecturers and researchers.  Also in print..

.