Skip to main content

Teacher Immersion Program (TIP) Orientation: Getting Started

Need articles, books, or videos? This subject-specific library guide can help!

E-Book Databases

The following materials may be accessed off campus with an FGCU ID.  Individual book titles are also accessible via the library catalog. 

Basic Resources & Services

The Library Web Page is the gateway to all library resources and services.  To check out materials and use online library resources off campus, you will need an FGCU ID.

The Library Catalog is used to locate books, journal titles, audiovisual materials, government reports and more.  Online books are available via the Library catalog.  If you are off campus and would like to view an e-book, you just need your FGCU ID to be authenticated.

Library Databases are used to locate journal articles, books, and reports relevant to your topic.  The library has over 400 databases.  For appropriate Education databases see the Education LibGuide Articles & Databases Tab.

E-Journals can easily be found via the Library Catalog or the E-Journal portal.  Simply type the title of the journal needed and if the journal is available in an online resource, the databases which contain the resource along with the coverage dates will be given in the results.  Many journals that you may need for some of your assignments may be available online.

Research Guides are available for all majors and have been created by subject librarians to highlight some of the best print and online resources available.  If you are not sure which database to use for your topic, check out these research guides.  Education  LibGuides suggest reference sources, databases, websites and journals appropriate for education topics.

Research Help

  • Contact me directly via the phone 239-590-7606
  • Go to the Reference desk.  We also have a Reference computer lab near the Reference desk so that librarians can provide additional assistance to students learning how to use online resources.
  • Research consultations may be scheduled with librarians for additional help on learning library resources.
  • Chat or text a Librarian.  See Ask a Librarian page for specifics. When FGCU Librarians are not available, this will go to other librarians throughout the Florida.
  • Email me @ rcooke@fgcu.edu  

Tutorials and Handouts  are available to help you learn how to search the catalog, how to locate a journal article, or how to identify a peer reviewed journal.

Checking out Materials – To check out materials, you just need your FGCU ID card.  You can also add money to your card to make photocopies or to print materials  in the library. 

Study Spaces – The FGCU Library has plenty of study spaces including individual study carrels and group study rooms (DIBS).

Graduate students may also use "The Study", a collaborative or individual research place for faculty and graduate students which is located at Room 209. Graduate students must fill out an application form in order to get a key for the room.