Skip to main content

Education: Science Resources

Need articles, books, or videos? This subject-specific library guide can help!

Locating Science Journals

To see if a journal is available in print in the Library's collection, please use the Library Catalog and select Journal Title to focus your search results.  Results will display both online, print and microfilm journal titles.

Science journals (most of them) are in electronic format and available 24/7. To see if a journal is available electronically, go to the Journals page.  Here are some of the journal areas:

Science Education Journals Available at FGCU

Journal of Science Teacher Education
School, Science, and Mathematics  Online from 1992-Present
Science Activities -- Online from 1990.  Note: Current issues available in Taylor & Francis.  Scroll to bottom of list. 
Science and Children  Online and in print. Current issues in browsing.
Science Scope Online and in print. Current issues in browsing.
Science Teacher

STEM/STEAM Resources

Locating School Textbooks and Children's Literature

For a quick way to locate textbooks or children's literature books, please go to the advanced search screen of the Library catalog.  

 Locating Textbooks in Library Catalog

1. Type your topic and select Anywhere

2. In the Limit your search further section, select Location

3. Select either Curriculum Collection or Children's Literature to only search those areas.

 

You may also do the following in the regular catalog. 

1.     Type school textbook collection as a Subject Heading.

2.     Click School textbook collection in the Subject: Topic area to narrow results by topic.  Then click show more which will show elementary or secondary.  If you click show more again, you will get the subject areas.

3.     Or, do an Anywhere search subject + school textbook collection.  For example, health school textbook collection.

Locating Books

Science books can be found on the 2nd floor of Library East. Use the Library Catalog to search for specific topics or books, or browse the shelves at the following call numbers:

  • QA Mathematics & Computers
  • QB Astronomy
  • QC Physics
  • QD Chemistry
  • QE Geology
  • QH Natural History & General Biology
  • QK Botany
  • QL Zoology
  • QR Microbiololgy

Try these searches to locate books and resources in the FGCU Catalog.

FGCU Databases and Resources for K-12

Science News

Why Files: The Science Behind the News " explores science in the news and provides numerous resources and activity pages for teachers.

Florida Resources

CPALMS -- toolkits for educators that are organized by grade level.  Contains interactive tools that helps educators effectively implement teaching standards. 

Florida Association of Science Teachers  Contains numerous science resources including links related to Florida such as Florida Panther and Mote Marine Laboratory. 

FGCU's Whitaker Center for Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics Education "provides programming to public and private K-12 schools in their efforst to bring form reform related to science, mathematics, and technology (STEM) Education."