Skip to main content

Education: Finding Videos

Need articles, books, or videos? This subject-specific library guide can help!

Locating Streaming Videos Through the Library Catalog

The FGCU Library has several streaming video collections.   Titles may be accessed via the Library Catalog or click on the links below to access the collections. Videos may be viewed 24/7 from anywhere with an internet connection.  

Films on Demand Master Academic Collection     Icon  A streaming video collection of over 13,000 educational videos in major subject areas, including: Humanities & Social Sciences; Business & Economics; Science & Mathematics; and Health & Medicine

CareerSpots Videos
Hundreds of short videos for advice on career choice, interviewing, internships and job hunting.

Academic Video Online: Premium    Icon  A multidisciplinary streaming video collection of more than 34,000 educational films and documentaries. Broad subject areas include: Art & Architecture, Anthropology & Ethnographic Film, Diversity, Health Science, History, Literature/Language, Music/Performing Arts, Psychology/Counseling, Science/Engineering, and Social Sciences. Includes the VAST, Education in Video, Vol. I & II and Filmakers Library Online video collections.

To locate streaming videos in the Library Catalog, please click the following link and do a search by topic area.

Streaming Video Search Via the FGCU Catalog

Featured Ted Talks Education Video

Maisy Page speaks at FGCU's TEDx event about her journey to become an advocate for the rights and education of girls.

Finding Images

Subscription Based Resources
Available to FGCU faculty, staff & students only

ARTstor
"The ARTstor Digital Library is a visual resource of value to scholars, teachers, and students across the arts, humanities, social sciences, and beyond."  Faculty may download images for papers, presentations or lectures.  NOTE:  Images may only be used for noncommercial educational and scholarly purposes.

Video Collections -- Free

  • Academic Earth  -- free online video lectures from universities.
    American Memory Collection of Motion Pictures from the Library of Congress 
  • ARKive -- multimedia guide of endangered species of the world created by British non profit group Wildscreen.  Contains fabulous photography, videos and facts of endangered plants and animals.
  • Discovery Channel Videos
  • FedFlix  consists of the "best movies of the United States Government.from training films to history, from our national parks to the U.S. Fire Academy and the Postal Inspectors that can be used without any restrictions.
  • Frontline - PBS
  • MIT World -- Open access site of over 800 videos on "significant public events".   Examples include topics related to education, national security, science and more.
  • National Center for Learning Disabilities YouTube Channel
  • PBS - Video
  • TEDTalks  "The annual conferences in Long Beach and Oxford bring together the world's most fascinating thinkers and doers, who are challenged to give the talk of their lives (in 18 minutes)." 
  • WatchKnowLearn contains over 33,000 free educational videos for teachers.  Videos are organized by topic and  users may quickly limit to age level by click on ages at the top to access a slider bar.