Skip to main content

Education: School Law

Need articles, books, or videos? This subject-specific library guide can help!

School Law Reference Books

For additional titles, please visit FGCU Library Catalog.

School Law -- Databases

Major Databases -- Legal Studies

Index to Legal Periodicals indexes journals, yearbooks, law reviews, and bar association publications. Covers all areas of jurisprudence, including court decisions, legislation, and original scholarship.

LexisNexis Academic provides access to legal, news, business, health, and reference information. It contains full text federal, state & international legal materials: Federal code, U.S. Constitution & court rules, Federal regulations, agency opinions & US Attorney General Opinions, federal and state case law and legal articles and U.S. and international newspapers, magazines, newsletters & journals.  Please see Education Law Wiki or LexisNexis Tutorials  (You Tube Videos) for tips on how to use LexisNexis Academic.  If you are looking for a Florida case, please select the following link -- Florida Case Law.

Westlaw   a web-based legal research tool. This resource includes access to the complete laws and statutes of the federal government and all 50 states, federal regulations, precedent-setting court decisions, KeyCite, American Law Reports, American Jurisprudence, and current and archived articles from hundreds of leading law reviews and journals.

Education Law E-Journals

These titles are available online.  Click on the journal links to access.  If you are off campus, you will need your FGCU ID.

Legal Resources via the Web

  • Florida Legislature Online Sunshine  (Find laws and legislators online)
     
  • University of Florida Levin College of Law Research Guides
    Contains numerous guides, including Federal Research Sources, Florida Resarch Guides and Legal Research for the Non-Lawyer.
     
  • Legal Information Institute. Cornell University
    A free-access site serving as a gateway to US and state laws (linking to the US. Code, The Code of Federal Regulations), court opinions and current awareness on legal issues. Search feature and links to Key and all US Supreme Court opinions, federal courts opinions, etc. Highlights recent law events and opinions.
  • FindLaw for legal professionals
    Produced by a division of WestLaw, the site currently has free access to US Federal and state laws, municipal codes; Supreme Court cases: the US Constitution, US Code, Code of Federal Regulations, and the Federal Register, etc. Links to US courts of appeals, US trial courts, and others. Many links to legal news, legal reference sources, and resources on law topics. 
     
  • Google Scholar now indexes legal opinions and journals.  Click on the advanced search to narrow your search to US Federal Courts or to search court opinions by state.