Skip to main content

Education: Tests and Measures

Need articles, books, or videos? This subject-specific library guide can help!

Tests & Measures in Education

Welcome to our World: Children in Ontario greet the Education Minister.​  On this page:

  Full-Text Tests & Measures
  Find a Test Name
  Finding Tests in Published Articles
  Educational/Psychological Tests Reference Books
  Historic Articles on K-12 Assessment (1980-1995)
  Fun Tests for Kids and Adults

Full-Text Tests at the Library (Selected list)

Finding Tests in Published Articles

Resources for Locating Educational/Psychological Tests and Measures

Health and Psychosocial Instruments is a database  that indexes health and social sciences resources.  Some citations may lead to articles that contain actual rating scales, questionnaires or tests.  Here is a sample search of primary source documents for family relationships and interpersonal communication.

Health & Psychosocial Instruments Graphic

ERIC Search for Locating Tests

Search tips for Google Scholar and other databases.  

  1. Go to the advanced search screen of  Google Scholar or appropriate database.
  2. Enter your topic, keywords, audience, etc.
  3. Type questionnaire OR survey OR inventory OR scale OR instrument, etc. on the next line  (Search abstract or all text.)
  4. Type appendix (Search all text.  Sometimes an instrument will be appended to an article.)
Google Scholar Advanced Search Screen
Google Scholar Advanced Search Screen

CINAHL Locating Test Information

CINAHL Locating Reviews of Tests

CINAHL Locating Reviews of Tests

Find a Test Name (Using Databases and Websites)

Find the names of Educational/Psychological tests and measures using the resources below.  Once you identify the test you need, search for the test in one of our databases or the catalog (see directions further down this page).  Contact us for help.  Some tests may only be available for direct purchase, but are generally inexpensive (ETS tests are $25).

Educational/Psychological Tests Reference Books

The Achievement Test Desk Reference (ADTR): Comprehensive Assessment and Learning Disabilities / REF LB3060.3 .A28 2006
Assessing Hispanic Clients Using the MMPI-2 and MMPI-A / GEN BF698.9.C8 A87 2007
Assessing Young Children / REF LB1131. M6146 2007

Clinician's Handbook of Adult Behavioral Assessment / GEN RC473 .B43 C535 2006                                                         

Clinician's Handbook of Child Behavioral Assessment / RJ503.7 .B42 C55
Compendium of Quality Life Instruments / REF RA407 .C65 1998
Comprehensive Handbook of Psychological Assessment /
REF BF176 .C654 2004
A Guide to Assessments That Work /
REF RC469 .G78 2008
Handbook of Psychological and Educational Assessment of Children: Intelligence, Aptitude, and Achievement
/ REF BF722 .H33 2003
Handbook of Psychiatric Measures /
REF RC 473 . O78 A46 2000
Handbook of Tests and Measurement in Education and the Social Sciences /
REF LB 3051 .L4543 2014
Measures for Clinical Practice /
REF BF176 .C66 2000
The Mental Measurements Yearbook /
REF Z5814 .P8 B392 
Test Critiques /
REF BF 176 .T419
Test Critiques Compendium: reviews of major tests from the Test critique series /
REF BF 176 .T4195
Tests: a comprehensive reference for assessments in psychology, education and business /
REF BF 176 .T43 2003
Tests in print / REF Z5814 .E9 T47 Tests in Print II / REF HF5381.7 .V58

Fun Tests for Kids and Adults