Skip to main content

Education: APA Style, RefWorks, & Research Help

Need articles, books, or videos? This subject-specific library guide can help!

RefWorks

Use RefWorks to create your own personal database of citations for your papers and other research projects to stay organized! RefWorks also automatically generates citations and bibliographies in APA, MLA and thousands of other styles.

Login or Create a RefWorks Account 
("Legacy" Refworks available until January 2018)

 

New RefWorks

The New RefWorks interface is now available!

Create a new account in the New RefWorks with your FGCU email address

If you already use "legacy" RefWorks, you can migrate all of your existing references to the new RefWorks when you are ready. Learn how with this short video.

Learn to Use RefWorks in 20 Minutes (YouTube videos)

Exporting References from Databases Into RefWorks

The following document demonstrates how to export citations and references from the Library Catalog, FGCU Library Databases, PubMed and Google Scholar.

Creating References & Citations Using MS Word

Guy Typing on LaptopFGCU Computer Services has created terrific tutorials for using MS Office products.  The Microsoft Word tutorial includes a section on References and Citations that illustrates how to incorporate the citation style needed for a paper and how to create a bibliography. 

See References and Citations

Research and Style Guides

APA style guide to electronic references  ebook (2012)
Concise rules of APA style  Ask at Reference Desk BF76.7.C66 2010
Displaying your findings:  a practical guide for creating figures, posters and presentations  Gen BF76.8 .N53 2010
Doing your education research project Gen LB1028 .B7875 2014
The good writing guide for education students.  / LB2369 .W97 2012
Publication manual of the American Psychological Association Ref BF76.7 .P83 2010 (2 copies) & Ref Desk (1 copy) & 3 day Reserve
Writing literature reviews: A guide for students of the social and behavioral sciences (6th ed.) REF H62 .G35 2014

APA Web Resources

Basics of APA Style (20 minute tutorial by American Psychological Association)
APA Style from Purdue University Online Writing Lab (OWL)

Frequently Asked Questions about APA Style from the American Psychological Association
APA LibGuide  from Nova Southeastern University. 
University of Maryland University College  offers numerous examples of items within the Reference list as well in-text citations.

FGCU Writing Center

FGCU Writing Center 

“Are commas and citations driving you crazy?  Do you need help understanding a writing prompt or meeting a page requirement?  Is procrastination or uncertainty about writing a thesis preventing you from reaching your writing goals?  Fortunately for FGCU students, the Writing Center can help you with all stages of the writing process!

Located at Library West 202 C, the Writing Center provides 45-minute sessions with writing consultants by appointment and 20-minute sessions on a walk-in basis.  Visit our website to learn more, or call us at 239/590-7141.  Hope to see you (and your writing) soon!”

 

Library Tutorials and Handouts

Need help writing a literature review,  an annotated bibliography, or finding peer reviewed journals?    Try these...

For more tutorials, see FGCU's Library's Tutorials & Handouts page.