Skip to main content

Education: Books & Reference

Need articles, books, or videos? This subject-specific library guide can help!

FGCU Library Catalog

Search the Library Catalog

Books

Featured Books

New Education E-Books

Loading

Reference Books

Dictionaries

Education Week Guide to K-12 Terminology / REF LB15 .E335 2009
The Greenwood dictionary of education  
Learning theories A-Z / Also in print LB15 .L4695 2002

Directories

Patterson's American Education / REF L901 .P3
Patterson's elementary educationREF L901 .P33 2012

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of American education / REF LB17 .U54 2007
Encyclopedia of children, adolescents, and the media / REF HQ784.M3E53 2007
Encyclopedia of counseling  Sage e-book
Encyclopedia of education
/ REF LB15 .E47 2003
Encyclopedia of educational leadership and administration / REF LB2805 .E527 2006
Encyclopedia of education law  Sage e-book
Encyclopedia of educational psychology / ebook via Gale Virtual

Encyclopedia of human development / REF HM626 .E53 2006
The encyclopedia of learning disabilities / REF LC4704.5 .T86 2006
Encyclopedia of measurement and statistics /  Gale Virtual Reference Library
Encyclopedia of special education: A reference for education of the handicapped and other exceptional children and adults / REF LC4007 .E53 2007
Encyclopedia of the social and cultural foundations of education / Sage e-book
Gender and education: an encyclopedia
/REF LC213 .G425 2007

Psychology of classroom learning / e-book  via Gale Virtual 

Guides and Handbooks

The almanac of American education 2013 / EBSCO eBook
Bilingual education: a reference handbook / REF LC3731 .F45 2002
Brief reference of student disabilities-- with strategies for the classroom / REF LC4031 .N53 2009
Handbook of special education  ebook
Sage handbook of educational leadership: advances in theory, research, and practice / Sage ebook 2011

 

E-Book Databases

Locating School Textbooks and Children's Literature

For a quick way to locate textbooks or children's literature books, please go to the advanced search screen of the Library catalog.  

 Locating Textbooks in Library Catalog

1. Type your topic and select Anywhere

2. In the Limit your search further section, select Location

3. Select either Curriculum Collection or Children's Literature to only search those areas.

 

You may also do the following in the regular catalog. 

1.     Type school textbook collection as a Subject Heading.

2.     Click School textbook collection in the Subject: Topic area to narrow results by topic.  Then click show more which will show elementary or secondary.  If you click show more again, you will get the subject areas.

3.     Or, do an Anywhere search subject + school textbook collection.  For example, health school textbook collection.

Google Books

Google has scanned numerous books and made the content searchable.  If you can not find the book you need at the FGCU Library, sometimes you can view a book or some of its contents using Google Book Search.