Skip to main content

Databases A-Z

Databases by Subject and Type

Loading...

Current Trials

New Databases & Current Trials

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
  • Requires FGCU Library ID# for off-campus access
New
Rare print, audio, and visual primary source materials from key events in the history of European maritime exploration between 1420 and 1920. Themes include expedition planning, ships & provisions, commodities & trade, ports, life at sea, indigenous peoples, personal & family life, and more.
  • Requires FGCU Library ID# for off-campus access
New
The three parts of this database cover the period of inception through destabilization of apartheid between 1948 and 1980. It includes documents, dispatches, reports, telegrams, and handwritten embassy notes from the British Foreign, Colonial, Dominion and Foreign and Commonwealth Offices.
  • Requires FGCU Library ID# for off-campus access
New
Access to the United Kingdom's Colonial, Dominion and Foreign Offices' confidential correspondence relating to the period of European conquest and colonization of Africa. Includes reports, dispatches, correspondence, economic analyses, and more.
  • Requires FGCU Library ID# for off-campus access
New
This collection of documents from the British Foreign and Colonial Offices covers Middle Eastern history from 1839-1969. Included are official materials from Afghanistan, Egypt/Sudan, Persia, Suez Canal, Turkey, Jordan, Arabia, Iraq, Lebanon, Israel/Palestine, and Syria.
  • Requires FGCU Library ID# for off-campus access
New
This primary source databases is made up of British Foreign Office files dealing with Japan between 1919-1952. It includes diplomatic dispatches, correspondence, summaries of events, and more.
New
Advertising documents published from the late nineteenth century through the late 1990s. A huge number of brands, companies, and industries are represented. Included are advertisements, case studies, staff newsletters and speeches, and business records.
  • Requires FGCU Library ID# for off-campus access
New
Search or browse over 200 digitized service newspapers published during World War II and immediately after. An interactive map allows you to explore by location of distribution and origin.
New
The largest collection of fully searchable 18th- and 19th-century Caribbean newspapers. More than 140 titles from 22 islands. Essential primary document research for Caribbean history.
New
Local perspectives and global insight on immigration from 1941-1996 based on reports from the U.S. government organization that would become the CIA. Also includes analysis of the reports that provides modern perspective.
  • Requires FGCU Library ID# for off-campus access
New
Historical holdings of South Florida's Miami Herald from 1911-1982. Provides international coverage from the Caribbean and Latin America, as well as firsthand perspective of Florida issues.
  • Requires FGCU Library ID# for off-campus access
New
Oxford Bibliographies provides easy-to-access, reliable scholarly research on a variety of topics within a range of subject areas. An easy-to-use combination of bibliography and encyclopedia.
  • Requires FGCU Library ID# for off-campus access
New
Full text of the Congressional Record (1873-2009) and its predecessors, including the Congressional Globe (1833-1873), the Register of Debates in Congress (1824-1837), and the Annals of Congress (1789-1824). For more recent editions, go to https://www.congress.gov/congressional-record.
Trial expires: 8/6/2018. On-campus access only.
A collection of over 350 statistical databases covering all 50 states. Topics include demographics, health, business, education, and more.
title
Loading...