Skip to main content

Databases A-Z

Databases by Subject and Type

Loading...

Current Trials

New Databases & Current Trials

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Trial expires: 2/15/2019. On-campus access only. HeinOnline is the world's largest fully searchable, image-based government document and legal research database. It contains comprehensive coverage from inception of both U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional Documents and more than 2,500 scholarly journals, all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and access to the full text of state and federal case law powered by Fastcase. This HeinOnline Government, Politics & Law database package includes, among other things, special collections on Criminal Justice, History, Foreign Relations, Religion and the Law and Women and the Law.
  • Requires FGCU Library ID# for off-campus access
New
Find literal translations and International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions for better comprehension and accurate pronunciation of foreign language texts in art song and opera. It may aid singers in accurately imbuing each syllable with the appropriate emotional content.
  • Requires FGCU Library ID# for off-campus access
New
Video demonstrations of fundamental concepts and techniques in biology. Includes General Laboratory Techniques; Basic Methods in Cellular and Molecular Biology; Biology I: Yeast, Drosophila and C. Elgans; Biology II: Mouse, Zebrafish, and Chick; Lab Animal Research; and Lab Safety.
  • Requires FGCU Library ID# for off-campus access
New
Video demonstrations of fundamental concepts and techniques in chemistry. Includes General Chemistry; Organic Chemistry; Organic Chemistry II; Analytical Chemistry; Biochemistry; and Inorganic Chemistry.
  • Requires FGCU Library ID# for off-campus access
New
Digital scans and transcriptions of Queen Victoria’s journals, written between 1832 and 1901 and previously only available in print at the Royal Archives. The database is searchable and browsable, and contains a useful timeline and scans of the Queen’s journal and sketchbook illustrations
Trial expires: 12/15/2018. On-campus access only. With over 144,000 pages of content, Secret Files from World Wars to Cold War brings to light original U.K. intelligence reports and meeting minutes, signals intelligence, and newly released intelligence and policy files of the Foreign Office's Permanent Under-Secretary's Department. Spanning four key twentieth century conflicts, with a spotlight on the Second World War, the material, sourced from The National Archives, U.K., enables rich research into intelligence, foreign policy, international relations, and military history in the period of Appeasement, through the Second World War, and into the early Cold War.
Trial expires: 12/15/2018. On-campus access only. South Asia Archive is a specialist research and teaching resource which provides culturally and historically significant material from across the Indian sub-continent. The material was collected by the South Asia Research Foundation (SARF) over a number of years with the objective of preserving Indian cultural heritage. The result is an eclectic collection that opens up opportunities for serendipitous discoveries presenting users with the opportunity to focus on a diverse range of article, dissertation and thesis topics.
Trial expires: 12/15/2018. On-campus access only. War, State and Society provides access to thousands of documents from the collections of eleven U.K. government departments, each responsible for dealing with and reporting on the domestic situation in Britain during the Second World War and its aftermath. Sourced from The National Archives U.K. and the History of Advertising Trust, its files provide a uniquely comprehensive insight into the social, economic, political and cultural affairs of wartime Britain, and a valuable snapshot of day to day life in every corner of the country and beyond.
title
Loading...